Skip to content

Joy of Health

May 16, 2013

“You have to be sick in order to know the joy of health.”[1]

Many people take their health for granted. In the local newspaper, they announced a celebration for a local delivery driver who has not missed a day of work or had an accident for forty years. Congratulations for him, but most people will be sick at some point in their life. The reality is you really cannot appreciate how wonderful health is until yours is tested severely.

While in the military, I had a Traumatic Brain Injury, otherwise known as a TBI. This required a couple of brain surgeries and extensive post-operative rehabilitation to get me going again. Until then, I was a healthy, never catch anything, and never see the doctor unless told to, type of person. For the first year after the injury I was seeing doctors weekly at first, then twice a month. I was a walking pin cushion for blood tests every other week. By the time all of the docs told me an annual checkup was all I needed, I was rejoicing. While I knew I was blessed by surviving the injury, it was truly a blessing to be “normal” again.

I understand the joy of health. Every now and then I forget how blessed I am, and then I feel the scars or get a random headache. In a way, these are reminders from God that I am very fortunate and should be rejoicing in my health. So today, I will rejoice in my health!


[1] Kathryn Greene-McCreight. Darkness Is My Only Companion: A Christian Response to Mental Illness. Grand Rapids, MI: Brazos Press, 2006. 131

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

