Skip to content

Happy Fathers Day!

June 16, 2013

Today is the day we celebrate Father’s Day. It seems Father’s Day centers around the backyard grill and watching the favorite team on the television. In this day, many of us live clear across the country from our fathers, so we celebrate with a phone call and some good memories from our younger years. So, in honor of my Dad and Grandpa, here are a few of my memories.

When I was a young kid, I remember going fishing with my Grandpa and Dad. Funny thing is I remember a whole bunch about good times but nothing about a particular fish. Oh yeah, we did not catch them. But the memory is still strong because of the time at the lakes. Today, I still fish.

I learned how to hunt pheasant with my Dad and Grandpa by my side. While I cannot find a pheasant to hunt in Texas, I still want to go walk the fields again waiting for a pheasant burst into the sky.

I remember watching Rawhide, Big Valley, and Bonanza with my Grandpa. I still watch them whenever I see them on television. My Dad and I would watch CHiPs and T.J. Hooker together, and I cannot say I missed an episode of Cops when I lived at home.

I remember one spanking from my Grandpa. It was for disrespecting my Grandma. The lesson has stuck with me through the years: Do not disrespect a lady, do not disrespect your elder.

I was taught to open doors for a lady, not because they are weaker, but because it shows respect. I still do it today.

I remember watching my Dad head off to work. I remember I wanted to be just like him and do the same job. So I went off to the Air Force and did it there for fourteen and a half years, enjoying it every day.

I learned not to lie. It was a painful lesson (some would say my Dad was the original Leroy Jethro Gibbs from NCIS – head slap and all).

Most importantly I learned the difference from being a team player and being a follower. This has other lessons embedded in it. If something bothers your conscience, you have to make a tough decision to either go along, or break away and go your own way. While being your own man, answering to God Almighty and the conscience He gives you is not easy, it sure lets you sleep easy at night.

So, to my Dad, thank you! Have a wonderful day and feel free to buy yourself a steak and grill it!

From → Holidays

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

