Skip to content

Life Changing Church Camp

August 13, 2013

Today you will be reading Part One of a two-part series from Sam Constance. Sam had a wonderful, and powerful, experience at youth camp and on a youth mission trip this year. She had a desire to share these experiences with others so I offered her “space” here at Anafalz for two days. Today you will be hearing about her experiences at youth camp.

Who is Sam Constance you ask? Sam is a member of Beltway Park Baptist Church in Abilene, Texas. She Graduated from Wylie High School this year and is going to be a freshman at Hardin Simmons University in the fall semester.

———-

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28 (NIV)

It was after I went on my first mission trip in July that I realized that this verse really applies to my life and probably everyone else’s too. But before we can get there, I have to tell you about church camp. Before church camp, I was not open to change or new things. I would only try new things if it didn’t push me out of my comfort zone or make me uncomfortable. I absolutely hated being by myself, whether it was just a time to relax or when I was in a completely new environment with no one that I knew. I am not sure why I was like that, but I just was.

While at church camp we talked about how God pursues us and how He sends us each individual little gifts to show us His love. At one point during church camp I wasn’t in the best mood because I was headed back to the cabin alone. It wasn’t until after I felt a cool breeze and saw a few red cardinals fly by when I realized that I was on the walk by myself so God could be intimate with me and show His love in a new way. I left church camp so excited because I knew that when I noticed beautiful things, God had placed me in that moment because He knew that is what my heart desires.

After having a group and prayer time each day at church camp, it definitely was not easy, but easier to be a better person. Right after graduation I received, “Live Second” by Doug Bender, a 365 day devotional. I wanted to get a devotional that actually made me take the time to sit down and think every day about how I live my life and the perspective that I have and this one helps me do that. Each day I try to write in a journal answering the questions, writing a prayer, or just writing about life in general. I’ll be honest, I don’t do the devotional every day, but by experiencing the more joy I have when I do follow through with it encourages me to be more consistent. Having time with God each morning before I start my day has not only drawn me closer to Him, but has helped me be more optimistic.

Sometimes…okay, most of the time, I wake up late and use the “I don’t have time” excuse and won’t actually get my devotional done. If this happens on a day I have to work then I try to set aside 30 minutes to grab lunch and 30 minutes to my devotional. When I do start my day (or last half of the day) with quiet time, I find myself praying more often in difficult situations and asking God for guidance instead of trying to live life on my own.

From → Guest Writers

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

