Skip to content

Sam on a Mission Trip

August 14, 2013

Today you will be reading Part Two of a two-part series from Sam Constance. Sam had a wonderful, and powerful, experience at youth camp and on a youth mission trip this year. She had a desire to share these experiences with others so I offered her “space” here at Anafalz for two days. Today you will be hearing about her experiences on her youth mission trip.

Who is Sam Constance you ask? Sam is a member of Beltway Park Baptist Church in Abilene, Texas. She Graduated from Wylie High School this year and is going to be a freshman at Hardin Simmons University in the fall semester.

————

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28 (NIV)

Between church camp and Mission Metroplex I began to doubt my decision to go on Mission Metro and started to wish that I had chosen to go on a mission trip out-of-state or even the country. I was disappointed because I only knew one or two people going on this trip and honestly thought this mission trip in Dallas wouldn’t be something that I would enjoy as much.

The church I go to is great at offering many opportunities to get involved in the community and really encourages and supports missions. For the youth in high school a couple of different mission trips are offered and one of them is Mission Metroplex. About 20 high schoolers and 10 adults (sponsors) go to Dallas for 4 days and 5 nights. While there, we went to two different apartment complexes that are in a pretty rough area and offered a VBS type thing Monday-Thursday and a carnival on two of the nights for each complex. The kids that attend are split into different age groups and go to different stations. The leaders will act out or tell the bible verse for that day then take their group to different stations such as arts and crafts, snow cones, rec and music. After we finish up a Mission Metro church will come and follow-up with the kids and invite the kids and their families to go to church.

One day I was talking to a friend and it was then I realized God had placed a desire in my heart to go to Mission Metro for a specific reason and to not doubt what He had already planned for me. As I was heading out for Mission Metro along with about 30 other people I felt so much peace and comfort. I had forgotten this was once something unfamiliar and uncomfortable. Throughout the mission trip I was SO blessed to be surrounded by people who are so full of wisdom and love for the Lord. During Mission Metro we really try to encourage the kids to listen to and learn the bible stories and worship music we teach them. The kids in my 3rd and 4th grade group exceeded my expectations and filled my heart with so much joy. I was there to bless them and they ended up blessing me.

On this trip I also made new friendships I know will last forever. It’s only been a few weeks since Mission Metro, but my heart longs to go back to that week and experience it all over again. I am so thankful I stepped out of my comfort zone and listened to what God wanted me to do because I felt His love in ways that I would have never thought possible. Stepping out of my comfort zone still isn’t easy for me, but I have comfort in knowing that my relationship with God will grow and that He will open new doors for me. When you feel like God is calling you to new and unfamiliar places I pray that you will do so and experience His love on a whole new level like I have.

From → Guest Writers

2 Comments
  1. Great post! It seems to take alot more courage to be a “light” in a Metropolitan area in our own country than it does to even go to another country. My reason is this: In another country we’re supposed to be different because we’re not from there. We’re from America, therefore it can be harder to push out of our comfort zones. Go Sam! Keep up the good work (and writing).

  2. Sam Constance permalink

    Thank you for your thoughts and words of encouragement! I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

