Skip to content

Simplify – Reading

August 20, 2013

Part of this week of simplification for me is my reading. I am typically reading between two and five books at a time. Not sure that is something to brag about. At times, I do not have a choice as many are assigned reading.

I will typically bounce between two to three books an evening and the next day I will read from the others. My method of hopping around keeps the books pretty fresh for me. But at some point your brain slows down to feel like mush. So, this weekend I did something I had not done in over a year – pick up a fiction book.

Last year I started The Good Old Boys by Elmer Kelton. I was about one hundred pages in before I set it down. I felt I needed to be reading stuff with more meat in it. Well, I dug the book out of a closet and that is the only reading I have done this weekend. It is easier to read, and now I cannot wait to get back into my other books I have going.

My simplification on reading is this: I will keep a fiction book on the table at all times and make time each week to read some of it. I like westerns, so many of my picks will be Louis L’Amour as he is my favorite western writer. But I think I have found a keeper with Elmer Kelton as well.

Here is my suggestion for you on reading: Find a favorite fiction genre or author and get them into your reading mix. It will help keep you refreshed as you read textbooks or heavier material. If you are only reading fiction, get some nonfiction in the mix. Try some biographies or some Christian Living books. This will help you strengthen your knowledge with your reading. You will also find you will enjoy your fiction books more.

Shut the blog down and crack that book open!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. This post is interesting to me since I’m really not a fan of fiction. However, I absolutely love losing myself in someone’s real story: enter history! So I’ll go ahead and supplement all those christian living and self-help books with a good old biography, autobiography or historical book!! 🙂

    • I have found a well written book on local history can be very fascinating. Many of the little stories covered in these local histories are the nuts and bolts which make the big stories come about.

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

