Skip to content

Stress in the Good

January 14, 2014

In mid-November, we had some sign of changes coming our way. It was rapidly evident that we had to make several major decisions all at once. How do I define at once – in a week! What made it more difficult was each option was a good choice. Making a decision between a good choice and another good choice can be extremely difficult. And that brought about a good deal of stress. Oddly enough, despite all my education and training, it caught me by surprise.

Why am I sharing this? We often forget that as our prayers are answered and the way we hope, and we follow the calling that God has placed on our lives, stress will be part of that transition. A transition is just that, a transition. Be ready to handle stress in that transition. Prepare for the stress.

What did I do to combat that stress? I prayed a whole lot more. I also learned to sleep in. I am known to rise notoriously early. Those early mornings, combined with the increase of stress, was depleting my body both physically, mentally, and emotionally. I had to surrender to sleeping in. Oddly enough, I drank less coffee. And I also had to rely on others more. And this meant at times some housework or other tasks did not get done. I came to realize that was just fine! Making priorities became critical to succeed in that time period.

We all understand and expect stress when the bad things happen to us. We frequently fail to prepare for stress in the positive transitions of our life. Thankfully I had several wise friends, and an honest and loving bride who told me to slow down. It was a wonderful thing they did. I share this with all of my readers because it can happen to any of us. I hope you will take the lessons I learned and file them away. Maybe you will be better prepared when you hit the stress in the good times.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I can definitely appreciate this post, as well as your take on slowing down in stressful times. Your advice has been helpful during this period of stress!

    • I am glad these words have been helpful. The trick for me is will I practice them the next time something like this happens? I pray I do!

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

