Skip to content

Is Your Garage Door Open?

February 13, 2014

Last week we left the garage door open overnight. Not intentionally, but nonetheless it was open. All night. One block off one of the main streets in our town. Did I mention it was open all night long? Now there was a flimsy door between that open garage and us inside the home and it was locked, but the car was not locked. By now, you are expecting to hear me tell you what was stolen. Believe it or not, nothing was stolen. Not a single thing. The car was there with everything still in it. The mower was untouched. No one tampered with the only barrier between mayhem and us – that thin door.

While I am thankful we were safe and all of our property was there, I was determined to figure out what happened. It seems that the door never went down all the way when my wife came home from work. We failed to watch it go all the way down. We failed to check it before bed like we normally do. Our system, or habit, was broken and our failure is what let the situation happen.

This got me thinking, how often do we fail to keep up with our spiritual life? Think about it, how often do you hear of someone doing something wrong and say, “I would never do that.”? That is leaving your spiritual garage door open. I could go on about the different ways we leave our spiritual garage door open, but I think you understand what I am talking about. What can we do about it?

While our salvation is not based on human works, we can guard our witness and testimony by keeping the garage door down. You still have to open it from time to time, but make sure it is guarded. We need to think twice before we say, “I would never do that.” We need people who we can talk openly and honestly with and allow them to speak honestly to us – even if it hurts our feelings.

While these two things are abstractly related, my hope is it gets you thinking if you are leaving your spiritual garage door open all night long.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. This one caught my eye when the link hit my inbox! Love the analogy!! (And I pray I NEVER leave my garage door open! Some of my greatest treasures are in there:)

    • Thank you for your post and your compliments. It was shocking to open the door and see the garage door wide open. Stunned to say the least. I pray we won’t do it again either.

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

