Skip to content

Hurdles

February 20, 2014

I remember in high school my track coach thought I would make a wonderful hurdler. He felt my endurance, combined with my height, would make me a sure star. What he did not consider was my lack of flexibility and coordination. My method of running the hurdles was to kick each one over as I ran to it. No effort to run over it, just running through it. I broke several hurdles that way. And shortly thereafter I was back to running the 400 meter again. I was faster that way – no hurdles in my way needing to be knocked over.

That old story seems quite a bit like life. No matter what our task is, hurdles will appear. Most planning includes preparations for dealing with hurdles. Yet, every now and then, hurdles just appear in front of you for no particular reason. How a person handles these unexpected hurdles tells you much about their character. Does the person panic and begin behaving erratically? Maybe they step back, measure the hurdle, and work with the new circumstances with little notice. And the funny thing about these hurdles is no two are alike. Each must be approached differently.

I have to deal with this just as everyone does. I cannot say I am always the best example how to handle these things. But I strive to be. It takes work and self-discipline to do this. What am I getting at today? Prepare for the hurdles in your life. Expect the hurdles to come. These two things will help you respond to hurdles instead of reacting to them.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

