Skip to content

Modesty

April 10, 2014

I have seen the word “modesty” being thrown around frequently again. Then the other day I heard a radio interview where a lady was imploring young women to dress modestly so men will not lust after them and sin. She then continued to reason that if a young woman does not dress modestly and a man lusts after her, she is guilty of his lust. (I am sorry I do not remember who the people were in the conversation, but I was driving and seeing red by this point.)

Who gets to define modesty? This is a sticky point. Each church tradition has a certain idea what modesty is. Who is correct?

This particular radio guest made men sound like an animal that lacks self-control over their being. That offends me. I am pretty sure my sin belongs to me and me alone. My eyes and my thoughts are controlled by me, not someone else. I am responsible for myself. Therefore, no one is responsible for my sin except for me.

So, who gets to define modesty? I believe each person, man and woman alike, need to determine their own modesty. How do they do this: by searching in their soul for what God desires for them. What makes them feel as if they are honoring God in their appearance? In the end, they are accountable for it.

Men, we need to step up and quit pawning off our faults on others. Quit making others feel guilty for our failures. Instead, go before the Throne of God and repent of the sin, accept forgiveness, and start again in the newness of grace and mercy.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

