Skip to content

Book Review – A Thousand Deer

October 7, 2014

As deer season in Texas approached, I was searching for a book to get me in that deer-hunting frame of mind. So, as I was searching a local owned bookstore and came across A Thousand Deer[1] by Texas author Rick Bass. I bought it as set down to start turning the pages.

This book is a meandering account of Bass’s life experiences in the woods with various family members. While I appreciate his account, it did not work for me. As a matter of fact, I only made it halfway through the book before setting it down for good.

Why did it not work for me? Bass, while an excellent wordsmith, tended to meander through his story at a leisurely pace that allowed me to drift away from the story. Once I drift from the story, I find it difficult to return. Another issue I had with this book was the hunting stories early in the book were not featured in a prominent manner. I purchased this book to read hunting stories and build excitement for the coming hunting season.

After all of this you would think I would tell you to save your money. But I will not. Everyone’s hunting experiences and memories differ to such a great degree. For some readers, this will be the perfect book for them. There will be others, like me, who find this too slow to really capture what we are looking for. I would recommend that before you take this book home, take a few minutes and skim some chapters and see if this really meets your expectations.

[1] Richard Bass. A Thousand Deer. (Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 2012).

From → Books, Outdoors

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Wives of PTSD Vets and military

A page about PTSD - The good, the bad and the ugly

PLStepp

Stumbling toward grace.

Isle of View

a place where the application of faith and ethics are discussed

Jerry's Conversation

reflections on life, faith and other things

Jesus and Hank

BETWEEN A BAR STOOL AND A CHURCH PEW

Wesleyan Way

Following in the footsteps of John Wesley

Love You Big As Sky

A blog about Love, Life, and the pursuit of......... Loving Life.

The Pietist Schoolman

The website and blog of historian Chris Gehrz

lost in wonder, love, and praise...

Occasional Reflections on Scripture and Theology

